My barbell experience

Hi! This is my first post on this blog. I hope I will be able to show you why working out with barbells is a great idea. This post will be about my own experiences while working out with barbells.

First of all, I am a 40 year old male. I have been training for around five years now. The first two years were spent solely using machines and dumbbells every once in a while. However, three years ago I finally made the switch over the barbells. I am not sure why I did not do this before; I guess working out with that heavy barbell simply scared me. But after some years in the gym, I was finally convinced, and I tried to bench press. I was far weaker than expected. You know, I see all these people walking around in my gym, benching 225 lbs like it was nothing.

When I first benched, I did an amazing 135 pounds! You can imagine my disappointment at this. I decided to get stronger, and I wanted it to happen fast. I thought that, after spending two whole years at the gym, I would surely have to be stronger than this. But alas, I was not. So, like I said, I decided that I needed to get far more strong. I decided that working out with barbells was not really scare after all – I just had to try it to realize this. Since, I have been bench pressing several times per week, and my bench has shot up to a still-weak but fairly much better one-rep max of 245 lbs. I am satisfied with my progress, even though it has taken me three years.

The take-away from this post is that if you did not already start barbell training, I greatly recommend doing so! It will bring a lot of benefits to you that you did not even expect to begin with. My confidence in myself has become far greater, and I am way happier now than ever. So, if you have doubts about starting, I recommend simply doing it! If you don’t have a gym subscription, feel free to head over to the nearest gym and get one. It is not as expensive as some people make it out to be, and it is not nearly as scary as you would think. I recommend leaving now, and getting this done once and for all!

Leave a Reply

